Hill Top Ramblings

By janepetleyjones

Crumpets

Success! I gave up making crumpets a while ago, as they always stuck to the rings and didn’t cook properly. 
I have been enjoying watching Rick Stein’s new series, and he whipped up some crumpets which looked excellent. The recipe was very simple and available on bbc, so I decided to have a go.
The Aga is brilliant for this sort of thing as it has a lovely flat hotplate that works as a griddle. To my delight, the batter works brilliantly, it shrunk away from the rings so they slipped off, and cooked very light and bubbly. 
I may take a batch to the market!
In case you want to try them, here’s the recipe in extra. Just beat all the ingredients except the butter together. Leave to bubble for half an hour. Cook by pouring into well buttered rings placed on a buttered griddle or flat frying pan base. Turn when the batter has set. Easy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.