Fog Bank

Where I am staying in Palo Alto the weather is sunny most days with blue skies. It has been a very nice temperature (mid 20s) most days, but t's starting to warm up a little now. In fact, it's getting too hot out for my liking and the air conditioning is getting used more and more.

When we head up to San Francisco however it's all different. It's usually colder on the bay (often 10C or more colder) and it can feel like a lot more if they have one ofthe coastal fogs which are frequent in spring and summer.

One of the reasons that it is usually clear in PA is that the ocean fog gets trapped by a line of hills between us and the coast. Often you can see it peeping over the top of the hills, or even running in streams down this side of the hills. It can be really quite spectacular, and I definitely wanted to blip it while I was here. In fact, I wanted to from the moment I first saw it on the first day I arrived.

While it looks photogenic, it's surprisingly hard to find a good spot to get a picture of it that isn't the side of the Interstate (too dangerous for my liking) and doesn't have obstructions in the way... So it's taken me nearly two months but I have now completed my mission!

For anyone interested in the Fellowship programme I am currently participating in, I have just updated my blog on the Saltire Foundation website.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.