wingpig

By wingpig

KGXP

I will eventually be able to pinpoint the last time I was round this way but it's almost certainly pre-Blip, with sister-visits having been conducted through the air. The big roof is still there but the concourse has probably been re-done twice since I last went through it, though I found a note which said to ignore the signed directions for the Northern line which led a roundabout way through wider tunnels and to just head down by the Euston Road exit. Fortunately,the children's recent improved tolerance for medium-to-long car journeys has carried over to the railways, though it was aided by my phone being a hotspot and there being several types of food in our bags. The underground still smells the same, though it's surprising how refreshing the waft of stale air through the inter-carriage windows can be at the end of a long day. Despite remembering to set my out-of-office and do my timesheets early and even after managing to get our bedclothes washed and on the rack first thing so that they'll have plenty of time to dry without impeding later washes, I had a mild forgot-niggle somewhere round Doncaster when I first remembered that I'd not picked up the end of a packet of bagels, then that I might have left two used earbuds beside the bathroom sink, but was otherwise able to concentrate on being as relaxed as possible when dragging a family to and through a strange, massive city.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.