Lsquare

By Lsquare

Forty Years Of The Fourteen Days Of Valentines....

From the first time we danced on the first day we met, I knew he was the right man for me and the one I wanted to marry, but I wasn't sure that he felt the same way.  We started dating just over a week later in August of 1983.  Our first Valentine's Day together was to be February of 1984, but the Air Force had  other plans. Much to my dismay, he was sent overseas for an extended period of time on temporary duty or TDY.  But, I could send him mail and I wanted  to make sure that he wouldn't forget me, so I sent him a card marked "Do Not Open Until Feb Ist" . In fact,   I sent him a card marked for every day up through Valentine's Day!  Thus, the tradition that I named "The Fourteen Days Of Valentines" began and I have continued it for forty years.  Not always with cards, either.   One year  it was coffee mugs, another year it was neckties and still another year it was every heart-shaped kitchen tool I could find.  There is always a unifying theme and he never knows when or where he will find the "valentine" for the day.  He enjoys it and so do I!  I plan to continue the tradition for the rest of our lives together......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.