Kendall is here

By kendallishere

A Fragmented Thirteenth

Sue brought her car over to my house early in the day so I could drive out to Beaverton to meet each of the two Grands at the end of their school days and take them home. Their parents were both working today and other ride plans for the children fell through. I will repeat this tomorrow and also next Thursday and Friday, so this week and next I won’t have Baba Day for either of them. 

I used the opportunity to give Bella the gift she really wanted for what has been her most fragmented birthday ever. Her actual thirteenth birthday was January 29, but that was five days after her grandfather died and a day before his funeral observances began, so her birthday was postponed. This weekend or next, she and two friends will go roller skating to celebrate, and I don’t know if there will be a family birthday party or not. In any case, last week at the toy shop, I watched as she held this leopard to her heart and then looked at the price tag and insisted she didn’t want it. People who love you see these things.

So Evan wouldn’t feel left out, I got him a new Lego set: a rescue helicopter with EMTs, pilot, and injured person. He quickly put it together while talking to his friend Ezra on FaceTime (extra). This is how kids socialize these days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.