Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

The Barber Surgeon

The Barber Surgeon was one of the most common medical practitioners during the Middle Ages. Due to their dexterity with a knife they were sent to the trenches to operate on wounded soldiers.
 
I have been out of the trenches for a good few months and had my post surgical follow up appointment today at the Royal Free.
 
Luckily this was with a nurse who was also female. This meant there was a degree of empathetic bonding between us, useful when she's detailing the after effects of my cancer.
 
It was a tough meeting but we managed to have good laugh at the same time. She thought I was doing really well considering all I have been through.
 
I did leave her with one clear and serious point. She is to encourage surgeons not to sell reconstructive surgery as if it's tummy tuck and a wee skin graft. It's absolutely not.
 
Reconstructive surgery is major, invasive and fraught with many complications. NOT to be sold to a patient as if it were a something cosmetic. 
 
I knew this beforehand academically but then witnessed it in surgical intensive care via the patient in the bed next to me. I have never seen a woman in so much pain.

I wonder in retrospect whether plastic surgeons are practicing on NHS patients before launching themselves into the more lucrative private sector. Maybe I am being too cynical ;-)
 
On that cheery note I went to have lunch with Ian and Fuji.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.