emilywessel

By emilywessel

Old Fashioned

John and I got sore bums cycling to Peebles this Saturday (48 mi round trip). The highlight of the journey was the old-fashioned sweet shop we visited there. I had seen British sweet shops (and learned about them from the books of Roald Dahl), but never actually gone in and sampled the various kinds of candy, in the 2 years that I've lived here. The time had come.

While in the shop, waiting to be served, I noticed they carried Rittersport chocolate, and said to John - if you ever see the coconut flavour, be sure to buy it for me. Well, the gentleman who owned the shop overheard me, and said 'well you won't find it in Britian, because the distributor who sells Rittersport to UK companies only carries a very limited line of 7 types! The previous distributor several years ago used to carry coconut, but they went out of business, and the new one doesn't distribute coconut! So essentially I'm out of luck! I have to go to Germany for the best kind of Rittersport: coconut! This fellow really knew his candies!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.