Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Kite

Bringing the week to a close with a brief trip home to Wales to see my Mum.

The train journey across was smooth so I had some time to enjoy the fresh conditions along the prom in Rhyl, although not quite to the extent of this kitesurfer (kiteboarder?). There were plenty of Oystercatcher huddled at the edge of the beach and a couple of Goosander in the harbour. I ate my sandwiches secretively to avoid the attentions of the gulls.

Mum seemed as she does, although it's a bit crushing when there isn't a sign of recognition when she first sees me. Sometimes there is, sometimes there isn't and today was one of the days there wasn't.

Then I headed out to Denbigh to stay for the night, including a further trip out for Friday night football in the shape of Ruthin Town v Llandudno - a Welsh Tier 2 league game. Ruthin were 4-0 up in 30 minutes, Llandudno pulled two back before the break making it 4-2 at HT. A fifth for Ruthin mid way through the second half seemed to make it safe. I had to dash off for my bus 5 minutes before the end (rather than wait 2 hrs for the next one), so missed a late flurry from Llandudno which left a final score of 5-4!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.