While on my runs

By waipushrink

Paddling on the Manukau

S and I went to Onehunga early this morning. Not quite as early as the camera records, as I haven't adjusted the time to Daylight Saving. As it's only a couple of months before we return to standard time, I'm happy to leave it.

S has joined a class in dance, and during that I take a walk.This morning I used the new and old Mangere Bridge to cross the Manukau Harbour. My first extra for today shows part of the new road bridge (on the Southwestern Motorway) and a man in a small boat , the harbour stretching a long way to the east.

My second extra is a photo of the pied morph of the Oystercatcher (Torea tai). Both Photos were displaced from being my blip when I saw this outrigger canoe powered by six paddlers heading north-west towards the Manukau Heads, which are a long way off and there are dangerous currents. The water in the harbour this morning was almost still, with only the lightest ruffling from the wind.

Young L (not as young anymore)came around and he and I worked on sorting out old bricks which had been displaced in the making of the new deck and pushed into a pile. S will use a good number of them to make a wall for a garden. Others are broken. The remaining ones in good condition he may be able to sell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.