ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

Windmill 'Eben Haezer', Spui (sounds like 'Spy')

'Eben Haezer' (where the English 'Ebenezer (as in Scrooge) comes from) is Hebrew for 'Stone of Help', and engraved on the cornerstone is the Biblical text which was the source of the name -- 1 Samuel Chap 7 verse 12 = 'Then Samuel took a stone, set it up between Mizpah and Shen, and said, 'The Lord has helped us all the way' -- and he named it 'Stone of Help'.  This was the time when the Philistines were defeated, and 'all the cities which they had captured between Ekron and Gath were returned to Israel, and so Israel got back all its territory.'

I had to smile when I finished my research.  'Philistines' sounds very like where I come from, and they were defeated, but... I did not get back all my territory.  Or did I?  Because 'my territory' had never referred to the entire estate.  In short, only what I fought for, which was, and still is, enough.

The mill was constructed in 1807 and there is an interesting little story about it.  The municipal government of nearby Axel protested strongly against the coming of this windmill because it would 'compete' with their own town mill, which was and is simply ridiculous!  As we were under Napoleon's rule at the time (French Revolution was in 1789 and then France became an empire a few years later, as you know), the French were adamant about setting up this mill.  It has been said that Napoleon himself interfered in the case.  Apparently, the French got their way and the little hamlet of Spui ('Spy') got their windmill, and the mayor of Axel could say nothing more about the matter.  In short, a David-and-Goliath affair.

The trip today was totally unexpected and unplanned.  The weather had been predicted to be uncertain, and I didn't think I would have the energy for a drive.  That said, it wasn't really a long drive.  When the sun came out, I checked cloud radar.  Plan A was Noord Holland, but the north had a thick blanket above it, so I scrapped that.  Where was it doable?  The southwest!  And then the big one -- Could I make it without having to nap on the way?  I was too awake, even after the long night.

A long night it was, but there was no need to fret.  The Viking phoned soonest he arrived at the law firm of the Opposition's legal team, which was about 02.45 here.  There was a load of chit-chat between the lawyers as some blood and legal ties were discovered between the Viking's family and a couple of them, so the atmosphere was very, very friendly.  Then there was a slight delay as two typo errors were discovered, whereupon the entire document was examined once more.  An hour passed until everything was corrected, after which all parties signed.  By this time I really had to go to bed, but the Viking sent me photographs of the signatures.  It was closer to 06.30 by the time all was done.  I hadn't really slept but napped, but I was up again at 08.30.  It was while I was checking my mail that I realized how painful my arms were, a sign of my inner stress finally coming out.  It's my shoulders and arms that usually feel tired and stiff after a stressful period, and now I could feel the 'weight' of five years of litigation lift.  The feeling was not one of euphoria but of exhaustion and relief.

As you can imagine, notwithstanding some housekeeping and kitchen duties and MOOCking, the day was not as full as it usually was.  Or was that just my feeling?  The moment the skies cleared, cloud radar checked and I was off.

The agreement now has to get the approval of the (this time Honourable) Court, which should not take long.  According to the Viking, the case is now OFFICIALLY CLOSED and the court proceedings will be a formality.  Afterwards, the lawyers will come together again to sign the various Deeds of Donation.  'Donation'?  Yes, because the Opp still do not wish to recognize me as an heir, and, to be honest, I no longer care.  One thing I am very happy about is that Jack Sparrow's old property near the military camp will come to me.  He'd bought that piece because he wanted to live next to his work, but when he got married to his second wife they ended up settling down elsewhere.  He did not sell it, however, but passed it on to his son, and now I have it.  Will I keep it?  Of course not, but I'm happy that, even if only for a short while, it will be in my name.

There will be no jumping up and down until the relevant Deeds have been signed.  However, thankful for so many things today.  And now... nuff said and time for tea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.