YellowBalloon

By YellowBalloon

Country Park

A dullish but mild day so we were able to have a morning walk.  We visited Derwenthaugh Country Park.  I have posted photos of this in the past.  It always amazes me.  When I was a little girl it was the site of a coke works and my dad worked there.  The transformation from what it was to what it is now is incredible.  It covers a site the size of 146 football fields and has woodlands, meadows, wetlands, a river and many paths to walk along.  There is also a cafe and visitor centre.  

In spring and summer there are lots of wild flowers to see and there are many different types of birds flying around including kites which were introduced several years ago.   I have seen deer a couple of times.  So pleased that this has been transformed into what it is today.  

I have included and extra of the lake.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.