earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Staithes

Another day of feeling very lucky. I'm not a great one for birthday celebrations but E gives me no choice. We drove out to Runswick Bay and took a walk out along the coast path to Kettleness and then back via a permissive path along a disused railway line. My treat was being given a free licence to take a run back the other way along the coast path to Saltburn. It proved to be incredibly muddy. When the going was bad it was awful. But when it was good it was wonderful.

Running along the coast path triggers so many strong memories. My formative years as an ultra runner were spent running hundreds of miles of coast path in the south-west of England and Wales - headland after headland after headland. I was more or less on schedule for the 12.5 miles so that E met at the beach as I got back to Saltburn. I struggled to keep up with her on the final ramp of steps to the top of the cliffs. I can't seem to avoid them at the moment.


Thought I'd quickly post this classic view of Staithes before we got out to dinner. I doubt I'll be up for much afterwards!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.