PandaPics

By pandammonium

Parkrun tourism

Enforced tourism this week: our course is waterlogged. I went to Mildenhall instead, my second nearest event not done yet (NENDY).

It was easy enough to find, but after turning off the main road, there was a massive puddle to navigate. Luckily for me, another car had turned down the road ahead of me, so I hung back and waited to see whether they could get through or not. After all, I didn’t want to be this guy!

The car in front got through ok, so I followed at a crawl so as not to splash too much water on Henry’s underbelly. There’s enough rust down there as it is.

A few others from my home event were there, and I went round with one of them, alternating walking and running in thirty second intervals. My calves hated the slower pace and the stopping and starting, but by the time we’d almost finished, they had sorted themselves out.

Afterwards, three of us went to the cafe, where we played parkrun Top Trumps with our achievements in the 5K app and talked about all sorts of things, not all of them to do with parkrun.

We walked back to our respective cars; one had parked in the wrong place. Me and the other one talked for ages at my car. We said it was time to go, but then it was nearly one o’clock, and we were still chatting. We definitely left then.

The afternoon saw a meeting of one of my writing groups. It’s just as well it was online this time, because I was worn out afterwards.

Now I’m in bed with the lurgy. Great!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.