PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

his coat began to sparkle . . .

Although I have spent a lifetime buying and sharing children’s books - in schools, with my own daughters then grandaughters and for my own research - I even now still take an interest in them for myself. So, when the Yoto Carnegie Medal (originally the Kate Greenaway Medal) list is announced, I indulge myself in a few of the books I think I might like.

The Midnight Panther by Poonam Mistry -

- is a gorgeously illustrated book telling the tale of how Panther finds his own place in the world. Poonham Mistry is a hugely talented illustrator working in many fields - search out her website and be prepared to be astonished by her work. Her style, which explores pattern, shape and colour, owes much to her background of being surrounded by Indian fabrics and folktales.

Although I wouldn’t class this as a true Picture Book, where the text and picture are mutually dependent on each other - follow the tag to find many blips where I have described this in the past - the illustrations certainly enhance the words. There is a magical synergy between the two. A beautiful book. One to ponder and wonder upon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.