CarolineJay

By CarolineJay

PACKHORSE BRIDGE

I noticed this packhorse bridge below Egglestone Abbey as I was driving home from a family get-together. I must have passed it before without noticing but this time I stopped, walked across it and took some photos. It crosses Thorsgill Beck just as it meets the Tees near Barnard Castle, and when I looked it up I discovered that JMW Turner had sketched it in 1797.

I'd met my sister A1 (extra), her children Tim and Alice and Tim's partner Lavinia for lunch at Cross Lanes Organic Farm on the A66 as we had some family legal business that needed signing and it was sort of halfway. None of us had been there before but I remembered PaulaJ recommending it in a blip and we needed somewhere that had vegan options for Tim. A good choice and it was lovely to see them again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.