Birgit

By Birgit

it's your pick

Instead, I found myself in an area in between sleep and very brief moments of wakefulness. I heard the sounds in my body. I heard how the muscles tensed, the blood flowed and I heard something beating.  Regularly but fast.  Sometimes I was at school.  Fleeting moments.  Bert wasn't with me and that's a good thing.  He read a book.  My eyes would not read.  I had headaches.  And migraines.  I didn't recognize the first, but I did recognize the second, but rarely so intensely.  I have also been to Aachen.  Cycled down the hill towards Starbucks.  I didn't want coffee.  No food either, when Bert asked me.
Noises from the residents in the other three houses in our row took over.  Bert and I are quiet people.

On Friday I called the doctor.  I had to get back from wherever I was.  I got a rapid bloodtest, a stetoscope and sighed, coughed, sighed again, a thermometer in my ear, then a light and then a stick in my throat and said Aaaa.

That was two days ago.  I have left the tiring journey and hope to be back soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.