TheOttawacker

By TheOttawacker

Friday is market day in Dieulefit

No overnight email from NZ telling me to redo the edits, so I heaved a sigh of relief – and then panicked in case I had forgotten to actually send the document last night. I hadn’t – so I heaved another sigh of relief.

Followed S into Dieulefit so she could give her car to the “garagiste agréé” and then we went on to the market in my little Twingo. God, I hate that car. It’s like driving around in an egg box, only without the safety features. Plus, the back window is so small, you can’t see to reverse. This means that I either have to park only in places where I can move out in a forwards direction or I have to get out of the car and push it out of the parking spot.

Quick coffee in the square overlooking the church (this blip) and then a wander round the market searching for inspiration for dinner. In the end, we got duck, and added some potatoes, garlic, carrots, courgette, lobbed them all in a pot later on in the evening, and had a good meal.

Stopped off at the Picodon shop on the way back. Picodon is the local goat’s cheese, and comes in either 30, 60 or 90-day flavours. The 90-day one is a bit sharp, leaving you with a tingle (or “pique”) in the mouth, which might or might not be where the name comes from. Anyway, they pair very well with red wine and I am pleased to report that, having got one of each, the more you eat the better they pair.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.