campervan man

By campervan

Planted these yesterday

The temperatures for the next week or so looked OK so I cleared a strip in the allotment area and planted these. The markers are made from thin offcuts of oak beams given to me by my neighbour. I painted the ones I used last year. This time round I have gone for the natural look, which I prefer.
The yellow bucket in the background is my attempt at forcing rhubarb, still a couple of weeks away from being eaten I think.
Although I checked the forecast for temperatures I didn't look at possible rainfall. The word to describe what we have had in the last 24 hours is deluge. Puddles all over the lawn and the chickens are paddling. We went out visiting this morning at the height of the rain storm and the road had, in places turned into rivers with debris from the fields being washed out onto the highway. A bit scarry at times.
Coming back was not so bad, still lots of water lying over the roads and mud and slurry everywhere. We cut our visit short and spent most of PM in front of the fire with tea and cakes (homemade lemon and raspberry drizzle cake). 
The second half of the day was far better than the first.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.