michigan man

By outdoorguy

Al, the 5 Crowns Master

Five Crowns is a 5-suited rummy style card game that deals with forming your hand into books and runs. The game runs from 3 cards to 13 cards and the game is not over...Until the Kings Go Wild!

Why is Al a 5 Crowns master? It's not because he wins all the time. In our week with Al and Shelley, we have played a total of 12 games and the totals look like this: Shelley 5, me 3, Al 2, and Lisa 2. So, being a Five Crowns master does not mean he wins all the time.

Why do I call him a master?

Look at the little machine on the table to his left. Al made that. Let me repeat that. AL MADE THAT!

It can be changed from 2-4 players, indicates which player is dealing, and the lighted 8 on the screen shows what is wild. Let me repeat...HE MADE THAT!

The machine is amazing and distracting to me while playing, and,,,hmmm, I wonder if that was part of his plan.

He is our scorekeeper and math wizard, and his mind works in wondrous ways. Plus, as a HUGE added bonus...he is a dear friend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.