iaint

By iaint

Retro

I had my usual mixed Monday. A pleasant morning trip to Falkland to buy food, followed by the drudge of cleaning the house after lunch. 

Apart from that...

The Blip is a 50 year old press cutting featuring this Blipper. It was a match which was "tarnished" (to quote La Dépèche's reporter) by an injury to one of my team mates. An opponent stamped on his face while he was lying on the ground. 

Fonteilles was stretchered off unconscious, and was still unconscious in the changing room (waiting for the ambulance) when we got back there at the end of the game. 

He made a full recovery but never played again. 

The perpetrator was the tall bearded player in the white striped shirt in the photo. His younger brother played for France in the 1970s (Imbernon). 

I had been looking back at some of those memories on Friday night, and they are now back in their rightful place on a shelf in my study.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.