Sue Le Feuvre

By UrbanDonkey

Daniel De Lisle Brock

Probably the best Bailiff we ever had!

Doctors is a soap I mostly enjoy though sometimes it has episodes that drag on and on and seem to have no relevance but nevertheless I shall miss it when it’s gone. Yesterday’s episode was interesting because it was about someone with scurvy which resonated with a lot of symptoms I have. I know it’s a soap not a medical programme so I read up about it on an NHS site and I think I have a Vitamin C deficiency; not surprising since I’ve basically eaten no vegetables and little fruit for 18 months.
I spent half the afternoon asking Dr Google how to convert the numerous ways of measuring vitamins; and just to make things more complicated each vitamin is converted differently! The label on the Vitamin D I already take shows 10ug (400 I.U.) so I put 800 IU on my shopping list for Vitamin C but the label on the giant bottle I bought from Boots shows 500mg. Do you think I can now find the details to convert? Not a chance! But the NHS site says no more than 1,000mg per day so the 500mg recommended on the bottle will do nicely. Let’s hope the next bottle also measures in mgs!!!
I then popped to M&S to buy a rucksack full of salads, strawberries and melon and accidentally drifted into the cafe. They don’t have salad but I thought a pancake stack with fruit sounded more healthy but the poor lady serving was on her own and it was her first day in the cafe so she was very upset to confess she didn’t have a clue how to prepare it. But she did make a very good bacon roll…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.