SilverImages

By SilverImages

Tewkesbury Abbey

“All human beings are interconnected, one with all other elements in creation..”
Henry Reed
Second day of my mini pilgrimage in search of photos, and one with a bit of variety to it. I’m staying at E’s place in the country, so a relaxed start to the day watching the wildlife in the garden over breakfast (ours and theirs).
I’ve been invited to a small ‘psychic fayre’ and there’s always something of interest for me, so I called in for an hour or so to try my hand at dowsing. Interesting response and a fun chat about it over tea and biscuits, plus a little catch-up with people I’d met on previous visits.
After my last visit to Tewkesbury I’d seen an advert for the Gaia travelling artwork visit (until the 20th) so I decided I’d like to visit. The journey there was interesting, through country roads I’d not travelled before – and when we neared Tewkesbury the surrounding fields were flooded! Fortunately we made it into the city without incident and in time for our timed entry. That said I’d planned to use the car park across the bridge from the Abbey, but that too was under a couple of feet of water with the flood water from the Severn and Avon lapping at the edge of the Abbey car park. Enjoyed the artwork, a huge illuminated globe of the Earth suspended in the Abbey Nave, with plenty of entertainment from the toddlers running around underneath in the wide open spaces.
We’d booked in at Salerno, an Italian restaurant across the road from the Abbey, they were obviously busy but fitted us in (politely asking if they could have the table free for a later booking) and we had a great time there – food, service, welcome and attention all excellent, would recommend it if you’re ever there. A brilliant way to end the day out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.