SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

Slacking

… in dunes
I popped into Wells for a bit of shopping and to pick up mussels for supper from Burnham. Whilst in Wells I decided to go down to the beach and, whilst I resent putting money into the coffers of Holkham Estates (I wish the parking money there went to support the town), I wanted to see if I could find some Sea Buckthorn bracket fungus (catchily called, Fomitiporia hippophaeicola) …as you do. It’s certainly very selective… it grows exclusively on Sea Buckthorn.
I did : ) … extra. Then sat and had my coffee in the dunes.
Later I had thought of dipping off East Head again but the wind had got up so I mooched around the dune slacks there instead and found more Winter Stalkballs and Earth tongue. On the way down the bank there were some lovely clumps of vivid sweet violets which I’d completely missed yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.