Greenstead

By Greenstead

Sight Advice talk

I got soaked getting to my sight advice meeting today. The blue puddle over eastern Cumbria that I saw on the weather forecast proved to be correct. It wasn’t raining when I left home! Fortunately I got a lift home as the rain was much heavier. We had a talk about equipment used by vets before the regulations were in place. You can see some of them on the table in today’s shot. The large scissor type device was used to remove testicles of male animals destined to be someone’s dinner. Apparently they were heated to sear the wound. Please note that this isn’t used nowadays. You can also see lots of different potions on the table. They contained substances like carbon tetrafluoride, digitalis etc. We were all quite surprised that the animals survived such treatment! It was actually a very interesting talk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.