Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Mór welcoming ...

Blipper Sally noticed I was earlier than her last night in posting and going to bed, and she was correct - we had an early start today. But don't let me do that again: I'm hopeless if I'm too early in bed, I've found, after hearing all but one of the hours of night strike. Normally I go to bed late and sleep like a baby; last night was all sore bits after Pilates (sciatica, shoulder, ankle) and snoring (Himself). Nightmare.

However, we were up in time to be first on to the 9am ferry to The Other Side on urgent business: my hair had suddenly sprouted to an unbearable length and I had to see my hairdresser pronto. Because we were first aboard the Wester Ferries ship we were right in the bow as we ploughed into the gurly firth and were soused in sea several times as waves broke over us. No wonder our last car rusted away under us ...

However, it was worth it - I am duly shorn, and we had a pleasant coffee and a huge scone (I cut off a bit for me) in Café Mór across the road (Tonino's, our usual refuge, doesn't open till lunchtime. This was 11ses.) Café Mór is another independent cafe in a former church; they made a lovely job of converting it, with a roaring log stove at its heart and plenty of home baking as well as proper food. It has a devoted clientèle including dogs: you can see there is a menu for dogs as well as the human one in the collage. 

Our journey home was less bouncy, though we took the V-shaped route across, which mitigates the effect of the waves. Once free of tiny jaggy hairs I did some DG stuff (come on: you remember!) dusting our bedroom and making bread before getting onto a prawn, courgette and broad bean pasta in aubergine and garlic pesto for dinner. The usual collapse ensued - but I hate falling asleep just before I have to go out to choir. We worked hard - a full turn-out for once - and managed to establish a possible concert date. (Hard to do when most of the members are retired and therefore free to go off on holiday at random, uncoordinated times).

We walked home under a bright moon and watched the second part of the harrowing TV drama Breathtaking, about the effect of Covid on a hospital. It brings it all back - how frightened we all were, and yet how removed. 

I won't be in bed early tonight ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.