HeidiHH

By HeidiHH

Kitchen

Perhaps you can spot the cat diamond art there....

The construction area starts on the right corner of the photo. Deliberately left out of the picture. 

Anyway. The whole construction / renovation thingy. I'm out of words. Got the quote from the construction company. I had already spoken with the insurance company and mentioned their name as they said that they have done work for the same insurance company. The damage inspector said they had stopped using them as they were so pricey. Way over the level they'll pay.



Well it was quite a lot. 3 times to what I though it could be. They estimated 32 hours of work 5 hours to pick up the materials. Like what? 700€ for the material. The insurance company will compensate 70%. We'll have to cover the deductible + 30%. That would be about 1100€ for us. I'm not taking this.



I think I can use 32 hours not being professional. But that's why you get professionals so it would go faster.



And how long would they be here? A week? I need to go to work. I can't leave them with Buddha alone. Buddha is so scared of all the banging noises. And I feel anxiety being here with strange men running all over all week long.



I left a call request for the same inspector that I spoke with earlier. I feel that I can trust him. I also called my father-in-law (who has built his own house) and our neighbor who takes care of properties for a living. With all the consultation I have so far, I have two options that I will present to the insurance company as soon as he calls back.



1) We ( I ) do it ourselves. With the help of my father-in-law, I think I can do it. HE thinks I can do it. Asked my husband to call him and ask if I am just very stupid or did he mean it.



There's one area where is electricity, so that area needs a professional. I can insulate the pipes. I can take measures and make an order for the pieces we need to build the boxes / covers for the pipes that now are seen. I CAN paint.



My husband who works lots of hours is not happy about this choice, but does understand it. I'd try to do it so that his part taking would be limited.



2) We get someone to do some parts of the work. I do the painting. That way I think it would be one day for the work, and then I paint on my own pace.



I will consult the insurance guy for both options.



Anyway I was fuming with the quote this morning and digging up information. Consulting everyone I could think of that could help. I completely over exhausted myself with all the fuming. Now I'm just done for today. I have nothing left in me.



What a mess. And I should have taken over it in the beginning and not just wait for everything. This would be nearly done by now if only I'd been more sure of myself and proactive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.