David J. Rose

By djrose007

"Fancy a nap?" - Not a chance!

Thought I'd lie down for 10 minutes, and if I was really lucky I might even fall asleep.
The twins had other ideas. Climbing on my bed and messing about so I thought I might as well take a selfie in case I didn't get any other photographs today. 
Then we went downstairs to make some lunch and I switched the TV on. it was still on the CBeebies channel and "Big Cook Little Cook" was playing. They were making 'Rock Cake Mountains' with snow on the peak. It was just big rock cakes with sugar sprinkled on the top but Rock Cakes are probably my favourite cake. I suggested we make Rock Cakes and the girls, of course, wanted to help.
They made a remarkably good job of rubbing the butter and flour together. It started by just crushing it into their hands but after I showed them how they did it so well. One of them cracked the egg, luckily into a small container I'd got as we had to fish the shell out but she did it.
I did the egg and tiny amount of milk mixing but we all took part in forming the rock cakes. Into the oven and 20 minutes later you see the result in the bottom photograph. There were 4 or 5 more than shown, can't imagine what happened to them but they were just delicious!
P.S. My Route 66 sweatshirt doesn't normally have a mouse and sunshine sticker on it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.