Bog Cotton

Sometimes on the bike the body is willing but the mind is not. More often these days, it's the mind that is willing but the body is not. I live for the days when both mind and body are willing and I can zip along the country lanes here seemingly without effort. Today was not quite such a day. Neither mind nor body were willing when I set off for home, much earlier than of late, at half past five. I arrived home four hours later, having made a route up as I went along, discovering some brand new roads along the way. By the time I arrived I think I had turned the state of both mind and body completely around. It was just what I needed.

It was a beautiful evening, even if not especially warm, and as it looks like this summer is - much like last year - going to be delivered in dribs and drabs I thought I'd better make the most of it. I had a few stops for photography and again tried to capture the bog cotton. I think this is as close as I'm likely to get to the shot that I had in my mind's eye. This was taken besides Watersheddles Reservoir. I hope it gives some idea of both the fine detail and the broad expanse of this beautiful grass.

For the record, my route took me from Shipley to Keighley, Oakworth, Laneshawbridge, Colne, Foulridge, Barnoldswick, West Marton, Bank Newton, Gargrave, Bolton Abbey, Nesfield to home. One new road to me, the climb out of Keighley on the old Colne road through Oakworth was wonderful, with a superb road surface and great views. It's good to be able to add a new route to my repertoire!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.