Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

A Night in A&E

I spent eight hours from Wednesday night into Thursday morning waiting in Colchester A&E to see a doctor. At a Lent talk earlier in the evening, I had suddenly experienced some peculiar flashes of light in my right eye, then some bits of something swishing around inside my eyeball. I called 111, and they decided to send an ambulance to take me to A&E to be checked. I spent the night dozing on an uncomfortable chair, continually being moved down the list as life-or-death cases came in. It seems I’m okay neurologically, but they didn’t have the full-scale scope needed to look inside my eye, so I was sent home at 9 o’clock this morning (Thursday) having been told the eye clinic will call me tomorrow (Friday) with an appointment.

I’ve spent the whole of Thursday sleeping on my sofa. Shattered and fretful. I can’t see clearly because of the unidentified stuff floating across my field of vision. Think I might pop along to one of the Tiptree opticians tomorrow morning to see if they’ll examine my eye, and hopefully put my mind at rest while I wait for the eye clinic to investigate further.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.