Ridgeback13

By Ridgeback13

Marx

Given that I got to bed very late last night at least I went straight to sleep, but once again woke about 5am. I read and dozed and, once up, set off down to town in bright sunshine to meet up with the people and tutor on my long awaited photography workshop. It lasted longer than I'd expected and we packed a lot in, but it was very enjoyable and I learned a lot. I had my struggles with managing with and without needing glasses, confusing displays and too many extra buttons etc on my camera but gradually as we practiced key things in different, interesting locations around the city I felt some key processes and tools sinking in...thank goodness the tutor was very patient and knowledgable!
I don't know if it's going to help me a lot in Borneo with wildlife photography but at least I don't feel quite so alienated from the camera as I'd felt before!
Home and had a couple of phone calls in preparation for meeting tomorrow then had another nap....much needed. I don't feel too bad really, just tired.
Met LE for some Thai food before the opera...Marx in London by Jonathan Dove. It was a scream...so inventive and my second surreal invention of the week after Poor Things. Of course as with most modern operas there weren't many tunes(!), but there were some incredible arias and great chorus sections, very funny libretto and the production, set and use of scrolling video was very clever. I was a bit disappointed that it wasnt completely sold out (as it had been in Glasgow), but everyone who was there seemed to have a whale of a time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.