Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

One Step at a Time

Once again, thanks to everybody for all the good wishes. I’reading every one and stars for every one I read. I hope I can get to everyone for a comment but it may take awhile. Between exercises, ice, walking 5 minutes out of every hour and elevating the leg 5 times a day I’m quite busy! I’m pleased to say that I can walk quite normally (whatever that is) with the walker which is the preferred method to keep the gait even.

Spike is not at all happy with the walker! He backs away from me whenever I’m using it. It’s a strange appendage that makes noise and gets in the way of the path he has already mapped around the house. We’re the halt leading the blind around here!

We’re having a day of sunshine but the rain is supposed to start again, so I sent John outside to dig in the dirt. He has a tendency to either hover or disappear! We’re working toward the middle ground….it’s an adjustment for everybody.

If you're squeamish look no farther. For the record I have added a picture of the lidocaine nerve block catheter. It was actually painless going in and has been a Godsend going forward. I carry the bolus of medication in a little fanny pack (front bag?) either around my waist at night, or like a messenger bag during the day. It numbs the whole surgical area and makes getting around a lot easier. It should last about 4 days.

All things considered, a pretty good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.