Travels With 4 Wheel Fred

By HRGibbon

Blood

Today has been about the red stuff.
It started at 12.40AM when the dog decided she wanted to outside. I let her out and all I could see was a red glow in the clouds, then as they parted there was a huge red/orange moon. It would have made a good blip in itself, but at that time in the morning all I wanted to do was go back to sleep.

***Contains talk of needles and blood donation***

This afternoon I went and gave blood for the first time. It's something I've been wanting to do for a long time, but being on medication, I couldn't. Now I'm pill free, I thought it was time to go for it!
The place was heaving when I got there and they were running quite a bit late. I had heard a few stories from various people about fainting, feeling sick, etc. I thought please don't let that be me. Eventually I was called into the hot seat, rolled my sleeve up and the nurse set off on the hunt for a good vein.
I think I may have slightly freaked her out, as when she was putting the needle in, I was just laying there watching. From the moment she pierced the skin, when she pushed it a bit further, then a bit further, then a bit of a wriggle....
That's when things went a little pear-shaped. The vein she was after kept moving and she couldn't get the needle in. So another nurse was called, she popped it into the vein, but my arm around it was swelling up, so she had to take it out. I think she was quite worried that as a first timer I'd be spooked and leap up out of the chair. I was more worried that they'd say, "Well, I'm afraid you can't give blood now, or ever... go and never darken our doors again!". But she didn't. She asked if I was ok (several times) and would I be ok trying the other arm. I said it was fine. So another wait while another set of paperwork was printed, another bag and all the bits organised, chair thing swapped from one side to the other. Lots of pressure on the left arm, a big bandage, more pressure...
For my right arm another nurse came to do it (maybe I did freak the first one out? I was only curious to know what was happening). This time I thought I'd better not look. I just lay there, scratch *think of something nice*, bit more pressure and that was it.
They took the three samples off, I did the 'exercises', clenched my fist, looked at the ceiling, looked at what a nice red colour my blood was in the tube, and then something started beeping and that was it.
I went to get my cup of tea and biscuit, but a txt from the OH said that the builder was on his way to my parents, so all I had to make do with a glass of orange and a leaflet on what to do when/if my arm goes bruised.
I didn't feel ill, light headed or anything. My left arm is quite sore, but my right one feels fine. I've done it now, it's no big thing.

If you have ever thought about giving blood, do it. Even after the slight hiccup today, I have no worries about doing it again, and again and again. I have made my appointment for the next time. Hopefully I'll get my biscuit then!!

Then tonight's sunset. Looks like a blood orange to me! (Looks better large too).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.