Bom

By Bom

Hercules

Locomotive No,4277 'Hercules', built in Swindon in 1920, is visiting the North Norfolk Railway for half term. It was built to haul heavy coal trains in the Welsh valleys, being withdrawn in 1964. It spent 22 years in Barry scrapyard before being rescued in June 1986 and restored. Its home is now the Paignton & Dartmouth Steam Railway in South Devon. 
(From the North Norfolk Railway website)

A much better day today with some sunshine, so I decided to have my trip out on Hercules. It was lovely to travel the round trip Sheringham - Holt by steam train, I just love the sound of the engine. My main is a photo of Hercules changing ends at Sheringham, and I've added a mono extra. Always a delight to have a visiting engine. I bumped into JohnRH and W in Sheringham who were also doing the round trip. I was amazed at the standing water in some of the fields - I've added a (poor) photo taken through the glass so you can see how much water there was and how close it was to the tracks. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.