NotCuthbert

By NotCuthbert

Picturing an Iconic Photo

There are many different ways to photograph the iconic structure that is the Ribblehead Viaduct in the Yorkshire Dales.  I've tried quite a few myself during recent visits. I liked this one taken today as the sun shines through the arches. Who needs a steam train chuffing over the top?

The extras were both contrasts. The rainbow beyond the working farm is sunshine and showers. There were some really intense and thick rainbows today. A photo doesn't capture their beauty. Fortunately we didn't get too wet.

The second extra was taken at the side of a beck/river that was non-existent today. The river had disappeared into the limestone 50 yards away, and reappeared 10 yards past this photo.  The photo is of the debris carried downstream  when the river is in flood and there is far too much water for it all to go down the sinkhole. 

I was intrigued by the woven like appearance of the debris. So much more attractive than the plastic bags that I often see after my local river has been in flood.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.