oliophoto

By oliophoto

Recording again!

Those of you who follow my life story will remember that back in August the Open University decided to stop using human beings to voice recordings of texts for the benefit of reading disabled students - long story! They use synthetic voices now - even for STEM subjects.

I knew I would miss my weekly performance at the Audio Recording Centre so I volunteered to read for Calibre Audio.

It has taken a while to get started, but today I completed my first 30-minute (fully edited) file for them - 18 pages of a book ('The Heath' by Hunter Davies). It took me a lot longer than it should have (4 hours of work?) as I was setting up the workflow and getting used to manipulating Kindle and Audacity - a combo I have not used before. My new hyper-cardiode mike worked a treat, cutting out everything except my dulcet tones.

Here you see my “studio”, which is more used to video-editing. But it’s coping well.

Fun too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.