Cailleach

By Cailleach

All at sea.....

Sometimes at work, we have to phone through a prescription to a pharmacy. Each script has its own barcode, and therefore you have to be very clear when reading it out.

Most people use the Nato alphabet - Alpha, Bravo, Charlie, etc - though sometimes I go a bit off piste and venture into fruit and veg (avocado, banana, courgette...)

Yesterday, I called a pharmacy in Pollockshields, and spoke to what sounded like a particularly dense 13yr old.

Me: Is it ok if I give you a barcode please?

Teenager: Eh?

Me: A barcode for a prescription.

Teenager: Eh?

Using very small words, I explained the process, and suggested she write down the code (which was something like A785 TDR F34PL). I decided not to confuse her with apples or radishes, but stuck to the accepted Nato words and asked her to read it back. She was fine until she got to F, at which point she said F, T, 3.

Me: There's no T after F. It's just F. F for Foxtrot, then 3.

Teenager: Yes. F then T then 3.

Me: No T. Just F.....F for Foxtrot.

Teenager: Yeah, F for Fox, then T for Trot. F, T.

Me: But it's one word, not two...oh never mind. (I decided there was no way she'd ever understand the word Foxtrot.) How about F for......Frog?

Teenager: Aaahhhh I see. F then T. Frog Trot!

Frogtrot??

I sometimes wonder how I stay so sane.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.