pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Home

So, a week without blipping! I didn’t see that coming. But after an amazing week in the most beautiful setting of the Lye Valley, meeting some amazing ladies, experiencing the joys of a thoughtful and sensitive retreat, I am here to blip again today. As some of you will have seen, Mollie kindly put a message on my facebook page to let you know I was off grid for the week, and we certainly were that.

The retreat itself, I’m not going to detail. It was a special time, where I made, some new likeminded friends, and shared a memorable week, like nothing else I have ever experienced in my 58 years. I discovered the delights of vegan cuisine (lovingly created and delivered daily by an Elf) excellent teas (coriander and fennel being my favourite) and the freedom of time without rules. I’m taking all I learned forwards into the next phase of my life. I will try to upload another photo collage to sum it up.

Today, I wouldn’t say it was all ‘back to normal’ but Jon did bring me a cup of tea in bed at 9. After a week without tea or coffee (through my own choice) it didn’t have the wow factor!

We had blueberry and blackberry oat pancakes this morning, as per our regular Saturday but I did make a blue and blackberry compote as per yesterday’s breakfast because it was delicious. Jon and I sat and ate in the (chilly) conservatory looking out into our lovely garden, and talked a lot.

We then went in to Cromer to meet Mollie for coffee and giant Belgian buns (shared 2 between 4!) We decided on Huckleberries for the buns! I had a fennel tea. No coffee for me. I’m so excited to have discover this versatile vegetable and am looking forward to being able to collect my own seeds later in the year, as I have a huge fennel plant near the French quarter.

We left Mollie and Hen, and headed home via Homebase where we got the wood for the next raised bed. A job for Jon for next weekend.

A nice vegetable soup for lunch - not home made this time, but I will.

Jon went to do David’s garden for an hour while I cleaned the bathroom, then sorted out another 4 lever arch files full of old pensions notes. The Recycling Bin is their new home.

Henry came back and when I came down after doing the bathroom, he was sitting in the conservatory with the doors wide open, using the newly fixed air rifle to test it. He is so clever this boy, and had fixed something within the mechanism so that it could now hold the air.

Later we popped to Sheringham. I need to fix my old deckle so that I can make more paper, so bought a new hinge and some bits to make a new one too. Paper making season is just round the corner and I’ve got some ideas of things I want to do. I also bought a big tub of fennel and one of coriander seeds for my tea.

I’ve decided that blipping is great. I love it. But I am not going to religiously blip every day from now on… just that! I really do have lots more things I want to spend my evenings doing. Heading to Hoddesdon tomorrow for our dear friend Andy’s funeral on Monday.

So…I’ll blip again…some time this week, when the time feels right :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.