Orchid99

By orchid99

One of my very favourite places

This shows the beach, Praia Formosa, and the tall cliff Cabo Girao.

It’s one of my favourite views (and today I felt the colours in the sunshine were perfect.)

The blue and white building with the umbrellas is one of my favourite restaurants.

 My friends have gone home, and I couldn’t resist going there. I know the staff well and I’m comfortable there even if I’m eating alone, but today I knew a few people there who are friends from the hotel.

And the bus stop back is at the top of the stairs….

My extra is a photo of the Cristo Rei (Madeira’s statue of Christ the Redeemer, actually pre-dating both the ones in Lisbon and Rio de Janeiro.)

I took the photo from the promenade in Funchal, several miles away. It’s on full 65x zoom, and if you zoom in on the photo, you can see that the head(which had been struck by lightning) has been repaired. 

The photo has also been cropped. I was rather pleased that the sunshine had been cooperative. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.