rhona121

By rhona121

My herb garden

I love fresh herbs in the garden where they add a range of forms, textures and fragrance.

I created this herb garden from a corner of the patio. The soil under the paving stones was of poor quality and, except in the worst of our west coast weather, free draining. I dug in extra sand and grit as well as some better quality soil then planted it with my favourite herbs. Two years later this is the result.

Some of the herbs are grown in pots: the mint to prevent it spreading out of control, the lemon verbena and French tarragon so that they can overwinter in the greenhouse and the others just because I have yet to find a gap in which to plant them.

The full list of herbs is: mint, lemon verbena, sage, chervil, French tarragon, rosemary, thyme, chives and lavender. I have a large bay shrub elsewhere in the garden where it is better protected.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.