Burradoo Journal

By Burradoo

Stonehenge protesters

It’s a little butter dish. Friends brought it back from Stonehenge decades ago. The design is a trilithon, one of those huge 3 stone arches that stand in a circle at this mysterious Neolithic site in Wiltshire.
 
I just read a news item about the controversial plan to relieve traffic congestion around Stonehenge by building a tunnel into which some of the traffic would be diverted. It’s controversial because it would surely harm the site, which has not yet been fully investigated. It is also argued that drivers on the roads to be diverted underground would be robbed of the sight of Stonehenge emerging mistily in the distance. I have never experienced that, but I know how Uluru appears magically on the horizon and I know I would be angry if someone robbed us of that sight. I hope the Stonehenge protesters win.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.