David J. Rose

By djrose007

From the mouths of Babes!

I was wearing this the other day and one of the twins, didn't catch which one, asked me. "Grandad, why is there a Pigeon riding your motorbike?" HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
It was probably too complicated to answer her truthfully so I just said that it isn't a Pigeon, it's an Eagle!
On the subject of motorcycles, I was part of a four man team on a mission to just go out for a ride.
When I took over as the County Rep for Gloucestershire I said that I wanted to have some social interaction and fun rather than purely attending events, memorials, commemorations etc. One person, Rob who was a Lt Col in the REME Airborne, said he would take it on and organise a monthly ride-out.
I organised one in January and today was the first of many he is planning. See extra for the route we took. Rode to 'The Hideout Lounge', near Tortworth/Falfield, South Gloucestershire. A very pleasant café serving excellent food, and mouth-watering cakes, which we passed on as it was breakfast time!
An interesting ride back along some great roads for motorcycle riding, along to Charfield, Wotton-Under-Edge, Nailsworth, Michinhampton Common, Stroud, Birdlip and a steep drop down from the Cotswolds into Winchcombe and Gloucester. Around 60 miles.
A great morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.