JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Twilight

I went out too late to catch the sunset - or perhaps there wasn't really much to see - but walked round the village in the fading light and played with my phone camera, which copes much better with low light. Earlier, I had walked down the garden to the orchard gate, as after the rain stopped, the late afternoon light on the cherry plum blossom and the orange willow branches was beautiful; but it faded as I prepared to take the photo. I was shocked to realise how utterly saturated the ground is: water was lying between the tufts of grass and in little pools on top of the dug beds in the vegetable garden, and when I walked along the road, I found the footpath hidden under large muddy puddles and the grass verge beside it a squelchy morass of wet mud. We've been here just over a decade, and I've never seen it so wet; there's lots more rain forecast for Sunday night and Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.