BGCoffee

By BGCoffee

Four Day Weekend and Arrest Warrants

Its been an interesting week following my birthday.  Jamie was not supposed to be at my dinner last Saturday and so he had booked tickets to celebrate my birthday at Four Day Weekend which is an improv theater about 100 yds from our home.  It was an excellent evening with very clever and humorous skits - they have been doing it for 27 years.  Extra of J, R and L in the theater lobby.

Arrest warrants??  Yes, I received a phone call from someone who claimed to be a sergeant in the Sheriff's department.  He said that I had 2 arrest warrants out on me because I had not turned up for jury duty.  Apparently they had sent a certified letter inviting me to jury duty to our old address (and they had the right address).  It had been signed for.  The policeman said that I had to have the warrants cleared and to do that I needed to pay $1,000 bail money.  He kept me on the phone and told me I had to come down to the courthouse (again genuine address), with a payment I could make at a local store.  I was beginning to wonder about this and so texted the people in our old house.  They told me that there had been no certified letter and so I realised, despite the very plausible scenario, and the very impressive impersonation of a police officer, that this was a scam.  I told him that he wasn't quite good enough and reported him to the police.  For a few minutes this felt very real - these scammers are doing their homework and becoming pretty clever.

Lastly enjoyed watching Liverpool in the Carabao Cup final with LV in the UK which we won in the last minute with a brilliant header from Virgil van Dijk, but perhaps more significantly.  Chelsea, who we were playing spent 1 billion GBP on players in the last year, and we had so many injuries we had 4 teenagers who actually played in the match and we still managed to win.  Another extra of Virgil and one of the best football managers I have ever seen, Juergen Klopp

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.