CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Riding back to the stables

I saw these two young women riding up the hill and knew where they were heading. I parked above them and when they neared me I asked if I could take their picture. They seemed very pleased to be asked.

There is a riding stables further up our valley in a former but now disused farm, where a local dairy was situated until the 1970s. They delivered milk locally on old electric vans, just like the ones I remember from my childhood in the late 1950s. The older girl said they'd ridden all the way round the Horns valley, as far as Nether Lypiatt and Quarrhouse. I think they choose the route back to go on a few roads to give the horses and the young riders time to practice being in the same space as cars and people in general. I like to see horses being ridden around the local area. It makes it feel normal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.