PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

The Old Sea-Dog at the "Admiral Benbow"

No rain. Sunshine. But such a wind.

We went on the train to Falmouth, a place we have never been to but is only a train ride away from Penzance. Gordon  was very keen to go to the Maritime Museum so that is where we headed from the station. I usually avoid Maritime museums as I am not that interested in ships, but the thought of wandering Falmouth and its galleries in the cold wind was not very tempting. 

So we both paid the high entrance fee (none of our many cards had any impact!) and went in. We split up and went our own way amongst the six floors and met up about 2 hours later. I think Gordon saw everything, he even joined some little children playing with toy boats in the Boat Pool I think!

I was more circumspect and loved the views from all the windows. But I was fascinated by the exhibition on Pirates. This started with a look at Treasure Island - my blip is a part of it, the picture of Robert Louis Stevenson, the map, the ship and of course the parrot. I loved the way the book, which I read again a few years ago, was examined for the sources, the publication and its influence. Then the true story of pirates was put alongside the many reincarnations in legend and film etc. A very well done exhibition. 

I could have blipped a view of Falmouth harbour (see Extra) but decided this was more interesting. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.