I am camera

By Martinski

The Old Gateway, Inverness

I photographed this a couple of years back when the site was exposed by building work. It may not look like much but this site is of great historical interest. These steps which are at least three hundred years old are part of the Old Gateway that once led to the place of public hangings. I assumed it would all have been demolished, but it hasn’t, although it is well fenced off with signs saying ‘No Public Access.’ The adjoining ‘Old Inverness’ buildings have also survived. I wonder if the folk in the new flats see all this an 'eysore.' I hope someone has a plan to restore these buildings. The first extra shows what it looked like in the nineteenth century. The second extra shows the surviving building.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.