madwill's world

By madwill

Busted :-(

When Mrs madwill was using the en-suite shower the other day the hot tap jammed in the open position and she couldn’t turn it off. Now, I was able to turn the tap but it was very stiff and clearly something was amiss.

I took the valve out and found that a big chunk of brass had sheared off around the washer - which is at the bottom of the left valve in the shot. couldn’t see how it managed to jam open though! I managed to get it back in and ‘working’ but I ordered some new ones anyway and they arrived this morning. I got a ‘reviver’ kit, which comes with new handles so I didn’t need to worry about the number of ‘splines’ on the top piece of the valve … been caught out like that before! Spline count is important!!

Anyway - hopefully they won’t need replacing (apart from maybe the washers) for another 25 years!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.