The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Hole

As I walked back down Main Street from Bat & Chat, I noticed something was missing from the house - the chimney stack.  John and Tommy had dismantled it in the two hours I was away.  The flues are exposed, and so is the loft space, so let's hope we have that rare thing tonight: a dry night.  If all goes well we will have a new stack tomorrow at this time.  Once the scaffolding was up, it became clear that our decision to rebuild the chimney stacks was a good one, the old ones were shot, and the lead had parted company with the brickwork.  It's amazing the damp isn't worse than it is.

Before this excitement, we went to York in the morning in pursuit of comfortable shoes for C who is having trouble with her feet because of psoriatic arthritis.  Mission accomplished.

This is my second blip tonight as I am trying to bring myself up to date.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.