biddy

By biddy

Me, myself and I………

………reflected in a plate glass window this afternoon.
I had gone to visit a couple who have not long moved into a Retirement Village in Bourneville, Birmingham, today.
They are the parents of one of our friends, Natalie, who is being married in July.
Her mum is French and her dad Is Czech.
I have never been in such a huge complex before, with its beautifully maintained grounds and gardens, all accessible to wheelchair users as well. It is for people over the age of 55.
I took the reflected photo to show part of the grounds and some of the buildings on my arrival.
In extras are two more, The Atrium has six storeys with apartments on each level. The other photo gives another view from a different part of the gardens. Nat’s parents live on the second floor of the block on the left.
The facilities are second to none, with a small supermarket, a restaurant, brasserie, hair salon and beauty salon. A fully equipped gym, along side a room which is used for things like table tennis, and other classes. A full programme is on a notice board.
In other words, you need never leave the “village” at all.
Do you think we would like to live there?
I’ll just leave you with the question!
I went there by train, and then caught a bus. It took just over an hour. And you couldn’t drive there in much less time than that, given the traffic around the city, plus I could read my book on the 39 min train journey.,
I had an enjoyable time, with tea and cake in their apartment, until it was time to make the return journey.
This has made me late posting this evening.
I’m behind with blips again just now, but will catch up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.