Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Harstad at night

After yesterday's storm, it was time to start our return journey with the drive up north to Harstad. There was still a lot of wind, but we didn't run into any difficulties driving our two vans with a total of 17 people to Harstad. We first drove to Henningsvœr and spent two hours there. Then we drove to Harstad, making a few stops along the way.

Since the KP index had turned a bit higher and there was supposed to be some gaps in between the clouds, we drove out to a location just outside of Harstad to try and capture the northern lights. I think in the end everyone succeeded at that, either at this location or back at the hotel when the aurora turned a little brighter. I didn't capture the aurora myself except on my iPhone, but I did try to get a zoomed in night shot of Harstad. The wind made it difficult to get a starp image at 400mm, but at a very high ISO I managed to get this shot. The noise reduction then turned quite a few trees into cotton candy, but the original image had no details there either so I guess that only makes sense. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.